Cold Spring Rolls with Shrimp & Mango-Daikon Slaw

Things stuffed with things are some of my favourite foods and cold spring rolls are basically a Christmas miracle in the summer, especially ones like this one through which heat waves aren’t so much waves as they are the norm and we’ve all come to accept that 35 degrees is just life now, so we might as well become nudists and stop cooking.

I am no pro at the rolling of rice paper wraps – if they come out looking vaguely cylindrical and everything stays inside the wrap, that is good enough by me – and I found their seemingly delicate constitution incredibly intimidating when I first started working with them, but they’re now a summertime staple because they’re all that I love about sandwiches and salads, but I can make a bunch in advance and, as long as I use sensible ingredients, they don’t go soggy like sandwiches and salads do.

Furthermore, they require no plates or utensils.

Win. Win. Win. Win. Win.

I will say that finding a really good brand of rice paper is key. I use this kind and size format:

rice paper

I have no idea what “size format M” means beyond “the size Mel finds perfect” in the vast terrain of rice paper, but here we are and I can only guess that M is for Mel.

I do not follow the instructions on the package, but follow the instructions of this warrior goddess, instead. Check out the rest of her site – full of SO much goodness. She describes the consistency of the ready rice papers as “like sticky notes”. I describe them more as “like condoms”. These guys are very resilient to my indelicate handling.

As the title of this post suggests, I most recently filled them with shrimp and a mango-daikon slaw. Onto that now, shall we?

What you need:

  • 6 rice paper wraps
  • 1 red mango, diced
  • 1 cup daikon, grated
  • 1 bunch of scallions, finely chopped
  • 6-7 mint leaves, chiffonaded
  • 1 dash of light sesame oil (or to taste)
  • 1 dash of rice wine vinegar (or to taste)
  • 1 pinch of salt (or to taste)
  • 1 cup of small, cooked shrimps (about 8 per roll) or 18 larger cooked shrimps (about 3 per roll)

 

What you do:

  1. Toss all ingredients by the rice paper and shrimp together in a bowl.
  2. Taste test and adjust oil, vinegar, and salt as desired. Do not do what I did and try tasting it after brushing your teeth. That is not a pleasant experience.
  3. Fill your rolls with one layer of the slaw, then a layer of the shrimp.
  4. Enjoy your rolls as they are, dipped in peanut-tahini dressing, or the more traditional nuoc cham.
One Comment Add yours

  1. recipeboxgal says:

    I love spring rolls and these look so good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

