Cheesy, Peppery Cornbread

I usually leave the cornbread-baking up to the mister because a) he makes a really mean cornbread and b) I greatly dislike baking.

Today, though, I was wanting something with a specific flavour profile to complement the roasted butternut squash potage I had my mind set on making – something not too sweet as the soup would be sweetish already, but flavourful and with a texture that wouldn’t be too same-y.

I probably looked at a gazillion recipes for cornbread before deciding to sod ’em all and go with my gut. She’s nearly always right, anyway.

I think I hit upon a winner. This came out nice and crispy on the outside, moist and tender on the inside with a nice bite from the jalepeño.

img_0300

Upon taste testing, the mister is all “it’s not MY cornbread…but holy fuck, that’s tasty.”

Yeah. This shit is like crack.

What you need:

  • 1 cup of cornmeal
  • 3/4 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 jalepeño
  • 1 small red onion
  • 1/2 fresh parsley leaves
  • 1 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup buttermilk (I used faux butter milk – 1 scant cup of milk + 1 tbsp cider vinegar)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted

What you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 425.
  2. In a food processor, pulse all of the veg until finely chopped.
  3. In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients.
  4. Mix the veg and cheese into the dry ingredients until combined (I find using my hands works far better than any utensil for this).
  5. In another large bowl, mix the wet ingredients until combined.
  6. Slowly stir the dry/veg/cheese mixture into the wet with a spatula.
  7. Toss the lot of it into a greased cast-iron skillet or other oven-safe vessel.
  8. Bake at 425 for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean.
  9. Let sit at least 10 minutes before cutting into it.
  10. Hide from the rest of the household until ready to serve.
5 Comments Add yours

  1. TiffanyS says:

    Wow, this sounds amazing. I love the idea of adding Jalepeño to corn bread. I may have to attempt this…

    Like

    1. thatmelanie says:

      Jalepeño isn’t for everyone. Most friends who tried this recipe after I posted omitted it, but I love the slow heat it brings to the recipe and the cheese tames it a bunch.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just >3 cornbread, or any bread for that matter. I will not use the jalepeno, not my taste, as I am a wimp when it comes to jalepenos, but will use some lovely spices with it. Thanks for sharing from your newest follower.

    Like

    1. thatmelanie says:

      You’re very welcome! The humble jalepeño isn’t for everyone. A lot of friends have reported back that they’ve made this recipe without it and loved it all the same.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sure will also try and make it without the jalepeño.

        Like

Leave a Reply

