Cheesy Multigrain & Veg Casserole

This recipe is totally my “what do I have in my fridge?” take on the spinach-rice pot recipe from the classic vegetarian cookbook, Diet for a Small Planet, by Frances Moore Lappé. It was one of the first vegetarian recipes I ever learned and remains a favourite to this day in spite of my constant screwing with it.

If you’ve any interest at all in getting into meatless meals (and I keep meaning to write a post about why I do and Frances Moore Lappé has certainly had a role in that), I highly recommend the book.

Back to the recipe, though. I feel like so much can be done with it. Once I had my casserole in the oven last night, I regretted not adding grated carrots and a diced tomato or two (because OMG we’re still up to our ears in tomatoes because we’re spoiled rotten friends of veg gardeners). You can switch it up in so many ways, as you’ll see if you compare this recipe to the original.

file_000-3

What you need:

  • 2 cups of a cooked mix of grains (I used an Uncle Ben’s bag o’ mix that has wild and long grain rices, barley, rye, and stuff and things – it’s really good, but probably cheaper to put together your own mix from bulk food store goodies. I’m a little gun shy about storing that as the result of the rice bug fiasco.)
  • 1 cup of cheese (I used a mix of Swiss, mozzarella, and marble)
  • 1/2 lb arugula, roughly chopped
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 2 eggs, lightly whisked
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp dried oregano flakes
  • A pinch of nutmeg
  • Salt & pepper to taste

What you do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the grains, cheese, herbs and spices.
  3. Taste test now.
  4. Add the eggs.
  5. Fold in the arugula.
  6. Toss in a lubed casserole dish and bake covered for 20 Minutes. This is yet another dish I like to cook right in my cast iron skillet for lack of a decently-sized casserole due to my last one blowing up (another tale for another time).
  7. Uncover and cook for another 10.
  8. Remove from oven and let sit, covered, for 10 minutes before serving.
Leave a Reply

