Veg-Loaded Breakfast Muffins

Me and breakfast are not good friends. I never want breakfast until a good hour or so after I wake up, but I wake up STARVING and that’s not at all hyperbole as I am hypoglycemic and eat pretty much every three hours or so when I’m awake. That most quick breakie options are either really bleak (oatmeal? *shudders*) or sugary and, in case you haven’t noticed, sweets are not at all my jam, doesn’t help.

I know, you’re all screaming “muffin tin frittatas!” and “mini-quiches!”, but I also have a weird relationship with eggs and I find those things don’t hold up well as they become either rubbery or sloppy after freezing or a day or two of refrigeration and I have tried at least 397565 different recipes for them. That might be a bit hyperbolic.

I believe I have come upon a winner, though. It’s basically me riffin’ on my cornbread recipe, but I amped up the eggs and veg a whole bunch and made it into muffins that are nutritious, delicious, filling and things I want to put in my mouth first thing in the morning.

I was almost nervous to try one this morning because they came out looking and smelling so perfect: they got nice and tall and a little crispy on the outside, but felt light for what they are, which is a good fluffiness indicator. And they were ALL of that. I’m so pleased.

veg-muffins-1-2

 

I will definitely be using the basics and coming up with oodles more flavour combinations for these guys, but here’s the recipe for what I made yesterday.

Advance warning: This is not a job for an electric mixer because it will turn your veg and cheese into goo. Just use a spatula and some elbow grease to do the mixing. It’s not a lot, I promise.

Makes 12 large muffins.

What you need:

  • 1 1/4 cups of cornmeal
  • 3/4 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 cups cheddar, cut into small cubes
  • 1 lb spinach
  • 3 red peppers
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1 cup cilantro
  • 1 can corn
  • 6 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup oil

What you do:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients (cornmeal thru cumin).
  2. Add the cheese to the dry ingredients and toss until well-combined.
  3. Finely chop all of the veg, except the corn. I use my food processor for this and do it in batches.
  4. Add the veg to the dry ingredient/cheese mixture and toss until well-combined.
  5. In another bowl, stir wet ingredients together until just mixed.
  6. Slowly stir the wet combo into the dry/veg/cheese combo until well-combined.
  7. Preheat oven to 375 (see note below about cooking temps).
  8. Grease your muffin tins.
  9. Spoon muffin batter equally among the cups and bake for 25 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  10. Let rest/cool 10 minutes before serving.

Cook’s notes:

I typically stay away from convection for baked goods, but I accidentally baked these on convection and they turned out perfectly. I think the moisture content is high enough that they won’t dry out as some baked goods might.

Consider roasting your spinach before adding it to the batter. Roasting condenses it a bunch, making it easier to combine with the rest of the ingredients. It also gives it a deeper flavour.

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

