Soup of the Week: Sausage & Bean with Turnip Noodles

Yesterday was Inauguration Day and, while I did originally intend to engage in some peaceful protest/declaration of intent with some rather rad folks in the form of a press-in, I ended up under an aggressive deadline, instead.

As such, opting for bloodymindedly, blissful and willful disengagement via making said deadline, The Go-Go’s (because what’s better than Jimmy Carter era post-punk-pop in times like these?) and soup seemed the way to go.

I mean, the one convo I engaged in on Facebook resulted in me having to edit my comments twice because autocorrect wanted to turn “Melania” into “Melanie” and, LET’S BE PERFECTLY CLEAR: “Melanisms” are the -isms of me, Melanie. Not Melania. My own government already misspells my name! The next four years are gonna be rough.

Soup also gave me a reason to run my fancy, new spiralizer thingy the daughter gave me through its paces and give me warm fuzzies. Such is the power of gadgets + soup.

The gadget is great. I will post a review of it soonly, but for now, onto the soup!

What you need:

  • 1 large red onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 5 cloves of garlic, smashed
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds, lightly ground
  • 1 lb hot Italian sausage, cut into 1/2 inch rounds
  • 4 cups stock
  • 6 cups water
  • 2 cups (or one tin) lima, cannellini, tuscanello or any white bean of choice
  • 1 tbsp basil OR thyme OR sage OR savoury OR tarragon OR oregano OR other herb of choice (this soup already has a lot going on, so don’t over-complicate it)
  • 4 cups turnip noodles (or cooked noodles of choice – please see cook’s notes for some noodle tips)
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine or vermouth
  • A good handful of cookable, leafy greens (spinach, kale, parsley, etc) per bowl of soup served

What you do:

  1. In a large pot over medium-low heat, heat the oil and add the onion.
  2. Once the onion is translucent, increase the heat to medium-high and add the garlic, spices, and sausage.
  3. Continue to cook over medium-high heat until the sausages have browned.
  4. Deglaze with the stock, then add the remaining stock, water, beans and herb. Simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. Add the turnip noodles and wine or vermouth and boil for five minutes, or until the “noodles” are tender.
  6. Drop a handful of leafy greens in the bottom of each serving bowl, top with soup and serve piping hot.
  7. Garnish with chili flakes, freshly ground pepper, and/or stinky cheese,
  8. Stir everything in, curse the government, blast some The Go-Go’s and enjoy!

Cook’s notes:

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned before that I loathe soggy soup noodles. To get around this AND still have soups that include delicious, delicious pasta, I simply keep the noodles to the side and add them directly to the serving bowls before topping with hot soup. The hot soup will warm the noodles and they’ll maintain their lovely texture.

 

 

Leave a Reply

