Megan’s Pastry

I promised this recipe to a bunch of folks back when I put on my big girl panties and decided to try my hand at pastry-making and made that gorgeous (if I do say so myself) savoury galette.

I completely forgot that I did make that promise until I was charged with putting together a dessert for a wee dinner party and decided to make this beauty:

file_000

That’s right! A chocolate-pecan pie from scratch from the non-dessert queen herself!

I used this recipe, in case you’re wondering. 10/10, do recommend, but add a pinch of salt.

I also made roly-polies BECAUSE TRADITION:

file_001

My grandmother would be so proud!

If you don’t know what roly-polies are, then I am sad for you. They’re really just the remnants of the crust rolled out into a sheet, slathered in butter, sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar (and raisins or nuts, or raisins AND nuts, if that’s how you roll) and baked for about half an hour along with your pie(s) until all golden brown and oozey and sticky and delicious.

But back to this pastry. Luckily my bestie gave me her blessing to share her tried and true recipe because it really is the bomb.

As with all pastries, the trick is to not over-handle it. “Light hands!” as Megan would say, but I find this recipe quite forgiving. Being a bread-baking machine, I can be quite heavy-handed and this pastry always comes out beautifully flaky for me.

Let’s take a moment and admire its strata, shall we?

file_002

Oooooooooooh…!

Aaaaaaaaaaaah…!

That is an approximately 1″ x 1″ end from one of the roly-polies and it’s delightfully rich and flaky.

By the by, the recipe makes enough dough for four 9″ pies (and a bunch of roly-polies), but freezes nicely.

So, thank you, Megan, for allowing me to share this bit of amazing from your repertoire. The world will be a better place for it.

What you need:

  • 5 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 lb lard
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup cold water

What you do:

  1. In a large bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients together.
  2. Using a pastry blender, work the lard into the dry ingredients until you have a crumbly meal about the consistency of breadcrumbs. I use my food processor for this step because I’m too much a ‘fraidy cat about warming ingredients too much with my hot, little hands.
  3. In a large liquid measuring cup, mix all of the wet ingredients together.
  4. Slowly word the wet into the dry, gently blending together. The dough should be smooth, but no completely amalgamated.
  5. Form the dough into a ball (or several) and chill until ready for use. Megan says you can use the dough straight away, but, once again, I’m too much of a scaredy pants for that.
  6. When it comes time for baking, just follow your pie, sausage roll, galette, whatever-recipe-requiring-pastry’s instructions for temperature and cook time. I have not once had this pastry burn or come out under-done in doing so.
Leave a Reply

