Vegan Chocolate-Peanut Butter Brownies

Last week, I had a hankering for brownies and made the first batch I have in over a decade, I’m sure.

A baker and a sweets person, I am not.

They were…ok. Far too sweet for my liking, so I got to sorting the recipe in my noggin to suit my taste buds who want a very chocolatey, richer than sweeter kind of brownie.

Somehow, they ended up vegan.

I blame the peanut butter.

I’m pretty damned chuffed, though. This was my first go at developing and executing a specific-measurements-required-sweet-baked-good-thing-that-is-also-vegan and it came out exactly as I’d imagined, which is to say, pretty damned good. The peanut butter taste is there, but not the main event. They’re rich and moist, but have that nice, brownie crust. And they’re chocolatey. Oh so chocolatey.

If you want to make them sweeter, I suggest adding another 1/4 cup of syrup, instead of sugar.

Also, one bowl. ONE bowl. That’s always nice.

What you need:

  • 3/4 cup of peanut butter (you may want to melt this or bring it to room temperature, at least, as the batter is pretty dry without eggs and can send powdered stuff flying as you mix)
  • 1/4 cup of vegan margarine (you can replace this with oil, but I like the richness that margarine brings to the party)
  • 1/4 cup of maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 3/4 cup of flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

What you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Grease your brownie pan (8x8ish or 9x9ish).
  3. In a large bowl, cream the peanut butter, margarine, sugar and syrup together with  a stand or hand mixer. Doing this by hand would be insane.
  4. Add the dry ingredients and mix until fully combined.
  5. Pour the batter into the greased pan and smooth it out so it’s even (again, this batter is pretty dry if you don’t heat the ingredients, almost more like a cookie dough, so just tamp it down with your hands or the back of a spoon, but don’t worry your pretty, little head because things will get melty and gooey in baking).
  6. Bake for 30 minutes.
  7. Let cool and mange!
3 Comments Add yours

  1. mydaytodays says:

    Yum! I’ll have to this =)

    Like

  2. mydaytodays says:

    have to try* oops

    Like

    1. thatmelanie says:

      I knew what you meant 😉

      Let me know if you do!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

