Galette aux Asperges et Herbes de Provence

I had zero intended purpose for this delightful savoury pie beyond the fact that I really wanted to make it, it’s rather equinoxy and making it came together like kismet – it had been banging around in my head for a while, I had half a batch of dough in the freezer calling my name, the asparagus and the cheeses were all on super-sale and a friend happened to drop a massive baggie of herbes de Provence in my mailbox the very day I had planned to do my groceries. So the galette went into my meal plan and a-shopping for ingredients I went.

Worry not, friends. The mister and I will enjoy it for breakfasts and nibblings over the next few days. Should you need an excuse to make it, I’ll remind you that it’s a great and impressive looking treat to put together for Easter or Mother’s Day…or the vernal equinox, either as a side or a main with a side salad. Any occasion is great as for all of its prettiness, it’s dead simple to put together and tastes like spring.

What you need:

  • 1 lb fresh asparagus, cleaned
  • Enough pastry dough for one pie
  • 1 and 1/2 cups of ricotta
  • 1 cup of mozzarella, grated
  • 1/2 cup of Parmesan, grated
  • 1 red onion, finely chopped
  • Zest of one lemon
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp herbes de Provence
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • A pinch of nutmeg
  • A pinch of salt
  • A goodly amount of freshly cracked black pepper
  • 1 egg
  • Olive oil for brushing

What you do:

  1. Remove the woody stems from your asparagus using the Martha trick.
  2. Trim the asparagus tops down to 4 inch lengths. Reserving both tops and trimmings.
  3. Chop the trimmings and toss ’em in a large mixing bowl.
  4. To the large mixing bowl add the cheeses, onion, lemon zest and juice, herbs and spices.
  5. Mix thoroughly until well-combined.
  6. Taste test and adjust seasoning accordingly, keeping in mind that the saltiness of the cheese will come out more with cooking.
  7. Mix in the egg.
  8. Roll your pastry out to a large circle and place on a greased or lined baking sheet (once again, I use my trusty skillet for this).
  9. Spread the cheese and herbs mixture evenly over the dough, leaving a 2 inch overhang.
  10. Arrange the asparagus spears in a radial pattern with the tops pointing in over the top of the mixture.
  11. Fold the pastry overhang in over the galette.
  12. Brush the asparagus and pastry with a little olive oil.
  13. Bake for 40 minutes, then kill the heat to the oven and let it coast for 10 minutes.
  14. Remove from oven and let sit for another 10 minutes before cutting and serving.

This pie can be served hot, at room temp or even cold and has enough body to take on picnics and the like. And…it tastes like spring.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. janet wilkins says:

    Well Darlin’ you’ve hit it on the head for me this time! I love asparagus, I use herbes de provence A LOT and all the other fixings sound heavenly. Since Paul and I are the only’s who love asparagus I think I’ll make this for he and me for Easter Dinner! Thank you! [😊]

    Janet

    There are no patchwork solutions to solving poverty. ??Everyone must work together.

    ________________________________

    Like

    1. thatmelanie says:

      I was thinking this was a dish you would love! It keeps and/freezes nicely, too.

      Like

  2. Beautiful! I have a similar quiche I like to make for brunches 🙂

    Like

    1. thatmelanie says:

      thank you! I have a weird relationship with eggs, but a massive love of savoury pies, so I’m always tweaking in search of something lovely between quiche and I-can-stomach-this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

