Creamy Dill Potato Salad

One of my favourite things about potato salad is that there are so many varieties. I know, I know: as a good Canadian girl, I’m supposed to have a firm opinion about what is the best potato salad and the best potato salad should be a potato salad that I make based on my grandmother’s recipe which was based on her grandmother’s recipe which was based on her grandmother’s recipe, each variation having a secret ingredient that makes it ever-so-slightly different and therefore better than what came before because genetics.

Potato salad genetics.

Or some shit.

Nope. Not playing that game. Potatoes are amazing flavour delivery vehicles and potato salad, no matter how it manifests, is an amazing way to make the most of heating one’s kitchen for half an hour to make a million tonnes of hearty salad that can use all of the bounty summer brings.

Speaking of heating the kitchen, I gotta talk about the kitchen robot once again. We’ve been using Rob’s Instant Pot a lot through the hot spells, because while it does add a certain amount of heat to our second story walk-up, it is negligible compared to using the stove or oven for anything.

This got me to thinking that there must be a great recipe for salad potatoes somewhere out there on the great big internet.

And, boy howdy, are there ever, but this one is my favourite one.

My heart was all a-flutter as soon as I started reading it because the author QA’s the hell out of those potatoes!

The fact that the cook time was zero blew my mind. Then I tried it and the potatoes came out perfectly and this is now my go-to method for cooking salad potatoes.

If you don’t have a pressure cooker, their advice on cooking the seasoning (salt and vinegar) right into the potatoes is brilliant and can totally be done stove top or in the nuker. For this recipe, I used cider vinegar, where the author recommends rice. You could use any kind, really, depending on the flavour profile of the salad you intend to create. Learning that was a total “wish I’d thought of that” moment that I gladly pass onto you (but you probably already knew it).

This recipe is for a favourite potato salad that uses just a few simple ingredients so’s to highlight of one of my favourite summer flavours: fresh dill.

It makes…a lot. Like, an amount worthy of taking to a family reunion.

It’s not pickly at all, just creamy and savoury and fluffy and dillicious (I’ll leave now).

What you need:

  • 3 pounds of russet potatoes
  • 3 tablespoons of cider vinegar, divided
  • 2.5 tsp salt (I used sea salt because that’s what I have)
  • 4 cups of water
  • 1 loosely packed cup of fresh dill, finely chopped
  • 1 large red onion, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup mayo
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 tbsp dill seed
  • Salt & pepper to taste

What you do:

  1. Cook your potatoes with the 2.5 teaspoons of salt and one tablespoon of the cider vinegar.
  2. Drain the potatoes, toss in the remaining two tablespoons of vinegar and let cool.
  3. Once the potatoes are at room temperature, mix them with the remaining ingredients in a large bowl until everything is well-coated and combined.
  4. Chill and serve.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. janet wilkins says:

    ?????

    Get Outlook for Android

    ________________________________

    Like

    1. thatmelanie says:

      you’re confusing me, Janet!

      Like

Leave a Reply

