The Apostolic Visitrix of the Melocalypse

I’ve been dreaming of making this drink since it occurred to me to infuse some whisky with rhubarb after pilfering my BFF’s rhubarb patch of one bajillion rhubarbs early in the season. I think my sub-conscious mind supported my obsession by allowing me to purchase and promptly forget a bunch of local strawberries I’d picked up from the farmer’s market, thereby forcing my hand toward making the strawberry syrup I’d envisioned going with it.

So, those things happened and I am currently sipping on the first drink of my vacation, a combination of the above, which I have dubbed “The Apostolic Visitrix of the Melocalypse”. A potent potable, on a transient mission from on high to deliver Mel’s favourite flavours of the season in the form of wobbly pop that is a little bit sweet, a little bit tart, will knock you on your arse and is very, very pink.

Fitting, non?

I think so too.

Infusing whisky with rhubarb is hard! I started with a maceration – 1.5 cups chopped rhubarb, 2 tablespoon demerara sugar, 2 tablespoons lemon juice mixed together and sat in the fridge for a good 24 hours – which I just transferred to a glass jar, topped up with whisky, sealed and stuck in a dark place to forget about for a month.

Have you ever had to try to forget about whisky for a month? If you, like me, have done so, you are the warrior.

Shootin’ at the walls of heartache! Bang! Bang!

Strawberry syrup is a little more instantly gratifying, thankfully. All you need is two cups of quartered strawberries (the riper, the better), 2 cups of water, 3/4 cup of white sugar and half a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Toss everything but the vanilla in a medium-sized saucepan over medium heat and simmer until thickened. Strain out the Strawberries, stir in the vanilla et voilà! Strawberry syrup.

The Apostolic Visitrix of the Melocalypse is then a couple of ice cubes, two ounces of the rhubarb-infused whisky and one ounce of the strawberry syrup topped up with club soda. It’s also delicious. And wobbly-making. And very, very pink.

Leave a Reply

