Spicy Zucchini Fridge Pickle

Last week, knowing I wanted to make zoodles to go with the Trapani style pesto I made, I requested zucchinis from the market fairy (my daughter) and, boy howdy, did I get zucchinis.

It seems zucchini season is in full swing.

Now, prior to making the zoodles to go with the pesto (which is a brilliant dish, I might add), I had not yet made zoodles with my nifty veg-spiraling doo-dad.  I have used it a bunch for a whole helluva lot of other things, just not the thing it seems most folks use it for most often. I was not disappointed. I want to spiral all of the zucchini. Making the fridge pickle was just another excuse.

I made all the spirals:

I also had falafel on my meal plan, so zucchini pickle was a good call. The wide blade on my doo-dad made perfect ribbons of zucchini, ready to take on the warm, spicy flavours of the pickling sauce.

They come out so pretty:

They also came out deliciously with a nice heat from the chilies, earthy warmth from the turmeric and just the right blend of tangy and sweet. They’re the perfect pickle to accompany the nuttiness of falafel, but are great on burgers and sandwiches…or just straight out of the jar.

What you need:

  • A 500-700 ml jar with lid
  • 250 g zucchini, spiraled or finely sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 1 head dill (or 1 tbsp dried dillweed or seed)
  • 2/3 cup of cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1 tbsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp demerara sugar
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp chili flakes

What you do:

  1. In a small saucepan over high heat, stir together the vinegar, water, salt, sugar, turmeric and chili flakes. Once the pot contents have come to a boil, remove from heat and set aside to let cool.
  2. Put the garlic and the dill head in the jar, then fill with zucchini, then slowly pour in the cooled pot contents, using a chop stick or a knife to get rid of any air bubbles, until the jar is full.
  3. Give the jar a shake, then shove it in the fridge for at least 24 hours before digging in.

 

Leave a Reply

