White chocolate, cardamom-cranberry fudge

I am a sucker for cardamom. I am also a sucker for convenient, easy recipes made easier with the use of kitschy ingredients like sweetened condensed milk to make easy, kitschy desserts that taste and look like effort, but are not. This fudge, one of this year’s holiday making experiments, is all of that…with a twist of orange. 

I hope you like it and forgive me for not coming up with some kind of measure of servings. I’m just not sure how to go about that with fudge. If you have any suggestions, do let me know. 

What you need:

  • 1 300 ml tin of sweetened, condensed milk
  • 3 1/4 cups of white chocolate chips
  • 1 1/4 cups of dried cranberries
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp orange extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon green cardamom powder
  • a generous pinch of kosher salt

What you do:

  1. Line a loaf pan with parchment or wax paper.
  2. Using a double-boiler system (I use a large metal bowl over a medium saucepan filled about 1/3 of the way with water), heat the sweetened, condensed milk and the white chocolate until everything is melted and combined.
  3. Stir in the remaining ingredients, then pour the lot into the lined loaf tin. 
  4. Refrigerate until ready to slice and serve or share as desired. 

 

Leave a comment